Goals for my 26th Year of Life

Today I begin the journey through my twenty-sixth year of life and I feel very optimistic about what this year holds. Every year I try to make a list of goals to accomplish and this year I’m going to share them with you, to keep me accountable and so I can write about them from time to time and you will know what I’m talking about. The first goal I have is one that I’ve never had on the list before and once I accomplish this it will also accomplish one of my life goals. Over the next twelve months my first goal is to finish writing the book I’ve started. For a large portion of my adulthood I have wanted to write a book but this is the first time I actually have anything written that I can focus on finishing. As of right now I don’t want to get into many specific details of the story but I will say that it focuses around the hardships faced by George Cook, an elderly man living in Memphis. Another writing goal I have for this year is to post daily on this blog. I think it is very important to write daily and continue to improve your craft if you are as I am an aspiring writer and this blog allows me to do that. There is not any subject that is the sole focus of this blog which allows me the freedom to write about whatever I feel compelled to write each day. That lack of structure works well for me because if I confine myself to writing about a specific thing every single day I’m sure there will come a point when I grow tired of talking about it and have nothing left to say on the subject. So then what happens? I stop writing and that is not something I want to do.

Another goal I have that I believe is going to take the most commitment at least in the beginning is to read at least one book each week for the next year. It really doesn’t seem like fifty-two books in a year is that many but for me anyway because after work when I get home the majority of the time watching TV wins out over reading a book which is sad. TV is the easy option where thinking is not required and while I’m not cutting out television completely it will definitely play a less significant role in my time if I keep my commitment to reading a new book every week. To keep me accountable on this I’m going to write a review each Sunday about the book I read that week and let you know whether or not it is something you may or may not want to check out. I may have doomed myself from the start because the book I’ve chosen for this first week is the more than six hundred page book titled “Those Guys Have All the Fun” which is an in depth look at the history of ESPN and the people who have worked there. I’m very excited about it and if you want to join me in reading it so you can dispute my end of the week review the author is James Andrew Miller and as always I would love feedback.

The final goal I’m giving myself this year is to get outside and do some form of exercise for at least half an hour each day. I’m not in the worst shape that I’ve ever been in but there is definitely need for improvement so if I can compliment my diet with even a little bit of daily exercise it will go a long way in helping me to be healthier. I live less than five minutes from Shelby Farms Park which just unveiled their new renovations which include a two and a half mile paved path around the lake and it would be idiotic of me not to take advantage of it. As some people may know I have dealt with depression in my life for some time now and one thing that has always seemed to help with that is getting out in the fresh air so if I can make myself feel better both physically and emotionally there is no reason not to do so. I hope you will continue to read my blog and call me out if I fail on one of my goals. I think this is going to be a great year for me and I hope it is for you as well.

One thought on “Goals for my 26th Year of Life

Leave a Reply

