Week 4 College Football Picks

I haven’t been to a Memphis football game since moving here, granted it’s only the fourth week of the season, but I was really wanting to go to the game tonight against Bowling Green. I will however not be able to attend the game tonight as I will be serving hors d’oeuvres at the pre-dinner cocktail hour for the donors who helped make the new renovations at Shelby Farms Park a reality. It would have been great to go to the game but I’m happy to miss it for this because without these people my job that I really enjoy wouldn’t exist and so to these wonderful people I am very grateful. It is the weekend by the way so now it’s time for my favorite two day stretch of blogs where I make my top 25 football predictions which aren’t always the most accurate but they sure are a lot of fun.

This morning at 11 the top ranked team in the country, my Alabama Crimson Tide, takes on the mighty high powered offense from Kent State and for the third week in a row I won’t get to see them play. I realize it’s going to be a terrible game and more likely than not a blow out but Bama is my favorite team and it would be nice to see a game every once in a while. Nick Saban is one of the most powerful men in college football. Could we get him some night games occasionally. The tide rolls over Kent State getting the easy W. I predicted wrongly that Michigan State would fall to Notre Dame last week but today I’m putting my trust in the Spartans and giving them the win over Wisconsin. I think Georgia gets upset by Ole Miss today in what should be a pretty good football game. The Rebels who are now almost definitely out of the playoff picture have played pretty well offensively thus far and I think their defense will step up today against the Bulldogs. I’m taking Florida State over South Florida in a game that nobody but their own fan bases care about and the same goes for Nebraska over Northwestern.

The 2:30 CBS game should be a good one with Tennessee taking on Florida. The Vols have looked somewhat shaky thus far but the Gators haven’t given me any reason to think they can get the upset. I’m taking Tennessee but I think it’s going to be close. Number 4 Michigan is not slowing down today as the build momentum in an easy win over Penn State and LSU beats Auburn in another tight SEC match up. My upset of the week is Texas State over sixth ranked Houston. I’m just kidding, Houston wins easily. I’m going to feel really stupid tomorrow morning if they really do get upset but to be honest I feel pretty stupid most days so it won’t be that big of a deal. I think Baylor will beat OK State and Louisville will have no trouble against Marshall.

The real upset I’m taking this week is UCLA over seventh ranked Stanford. That’s right I think a top ten team is losing today to an unranked opponent. UCLA’s only loss thus far has been to a really talented Texas A & M team who by the way is going to beat Arkansas today. Nice little segue there huh? I like Arkansas this year but I think Kevin Sumlin’s Aggies are just too much for the Hogs today. If they were playing at home in Fayetteville or even in Little Rock for that matter my pick might have been different but at a “neutral” location in Texas I’m taking the Aggies. And finally I’m picking ninth ranked Washington over an Arizona team whose only wins this year were against Hawaii and Grambling.

Think I’m an idiot who has no idea what he’s talking about? Come back tomorrow and see how I did.

2 thoughts on “Week 4 College Football Picks

Leave a Reply

