What Kendall Forgot

I’m currently reading a book right now called “What Alice Forgot” and while incredibly depressing at times it has been a very good read so far. If you haven’t read anything by Lianne Moriarty I strongly recommend you check her out. She’s kind of my guilty pleasure author I read whose books are generally very gossipy with incredible plot twists. The premise of this book is that Alice falls off her bike at the gym and forgets the last ten years of her life and while it seems far-fetched that something like that might happen to me I want to take some time to reflect on what that would be like. When I regained consciousness after my fall I would believe the year to be 2006 and I would be 16. I would be in Memphis which is really weird because I normally don’t visit my dad in Memphis during the week because it’s Wednesday and I should be in school. A beautiful woman tells me that she is my wife and that can’t be because I’m a sophomore in high school and I’m not old enough to be married yet. I would have no memory of ever meeting her or marrying her but I would feel extremely lucky to have her in my life.

I wouldn’t remember the four years I spent living in Florida and might be tempted to move there one day with the false hope of living a life of paradise near the beach. I wouldn’t remember that living there wasn’t as great as I had hoped and that I actually didn’t go to the beach very much. I wouldn’t remember being a realtor. I wouldn’t remember all of the stress that came with depending on a sales commission to support myself and might actually think it would be a fun and exciting career path rather than the stressful and terrible job that it turned out to be. I wouldn’t remember dropping out of college and realizing that what I want to do in life won’t be accomplished with a bachelor’s degree. I wouldn’t have any idea at that point what I wanted to get out of life. I wouldn’t have the memory of the spring break trip my senior year of high school where I got to travel abroad with some of my friends to Rome, Paris, and London.

If I had fallen and lost ten years of memory I wouldn’t know that my grandfather had passed away. Someone would have to give me the horrible news and I would have to go through the whole devastating experience again. I can’t imagine how awful it would be to go over to my grandparents house and ask where grandaddy is, only to be given the news that he had passed away more than a year ago. I wouldn’t have many of the great memories I had of him; going on road trips with him in the front side with his gigantic atlas opened checking every direction being dictated by the gps system, the late nights spent watching the Grizzlies the first year they ever won a playoff game, and the time he came to Florida and married me and my wife. I wouldn’t remember having a 1994 Honda Civic or the appreciation I gained for better cars that I got from owning that horrible one. I’ve had many ups and downs in my life over the past ten years but I wouldn’t replace those memories or experiences for anything.

Leave a Reply

