My Daily Struggle

Back in 2010 I realized I had been living my life wrong and realized it was time to make a change. I made the decision to quit drinking sweet tea cold turkey and make the switch to the healthier alternative of unsweet tea. Once I made the decision there was no turning back, I was determined to drink my tea naturally, the way God intended, without dumping in heaps of sugar. It was tough at first but I persevered and kept up the good fight and eventually preferred my tea that way and enjoyed the taste of drinking it unsweetened. It obviously was better for my overall health but that is not to say that I haven’t had my share of problems after making the switch. On a daily basis I am under the risk of assumptions being made about me and my preferences as I grew up and live in the south where sweet tea is the norm. I realize there are people all over the world with much higher stakes problems with me, but today I want to take the time to talk about the problem that impacts me every time I order an iced tea. When you order a tea it shouldn’t be assumed that you want it sweet. Just as in the same way when you order coffee it is given to you black, natural, and it is left up to the person who ordered it to add their own sugar and cream, a person who orders tea should be given the same freedom. People who drink sweet tea like varying amounts of sugar and it is somewhat absurd to assume that any given establishment has the perfect equation with which to sweeten their tea and satisfy each of their customers.

When I order a tea, if I don’t specify that I want it sweet I should just be given a tea and then act upon my own volition to sweeten it or leave it unsweetened as I see fit. There are probably a lot of people, including my brothers who disagree and think that I’m a weirdo for drinking my tea this way but for a lot of the world this is the way it is. I will never forget the time I went on a family vacation to North Carolina and my mom ordered a tea from a McDonald’s drive thru and the subsequent look on her face she had when she took a sip and realized it wasn’t sweetened. She went inside and asked for a sweet tea but they politely told her that their tea was unsweetened but directed her to the condiment counter where they had multiple kinds of sugars and sugar substitutes. This was something she hadn’t encountered living in Arkansas but this goes to prove my point that in other parts of the country tea is served the right way. I don’t intend to ever switch back to sweet tea as I can’t stand the taste of it anymore but I’m afraid my problem is one that will persist for the foreseeable future. If there was ever an issue to get my vote in a presidential election it would be for a candidate to promise for a law that would have restaurants serve tea unsweetened and then leave it up to the people to add their own sugar. I’m just tired of ordering a tea and when I forget to clarify that I don’t want to go into a sugar coma having to be that guy who has to send my drink back. The time for change is now, so let’s be logical about this.

Leave a Reply

