Lucky

Saturday was pretty typical for the most part. My wife and I both worked all day, then we came home and ate dinner whilst watching college football, but once we were done eating I got an idea. It was between 9 and 9:30 and I asked my wife if she wanted to go to the haunted corn maze. You see last week we had gone and bought tickets but due to the long wait and the screaming teenagers surrounding us we decided we would be better served to leave and come back another time. Luckily, my wife was too tired Saturday night to want to go so instead of making a late night trip to the corn maze I continued watching football and got to see two really great game endings. Sunday morning I woke up and was scrolling through the local news and that’s when I saw it, “Hundreds ran after shots fired at Corn Maze.” I let out a sigh of relief, glad to have missed out on that. That’s a little too scary, even for a haunted corn maze.

My wife was kind of freaked out, understandably by the fact that had we gone Saturday we would have been there when it happened, and she made it very clear that her ticket would go unused by her as she’s not going anywhere near the corn maze now. I get it, I really do, but I still want to go. Does that make me a careless idiot for not not staying away from a place where shots were fired? If that were the case I would need to quit going to malls and stop going downtown. I’m not saying that I want to get shot but I just don’t think it’s worth living a life where you let the actions of someone else determine whether or not you do the things you want to do or go where you want to go. The people in charge of the corn maze weren’t too worried about it as they opened up again on Sunday night so I don’t think it’s worth worrying about either. Yesterday morning when I saw the news I did feel extremely lucky that my wife had been too tired to go and that we stayed home, out of harm’s way but I’m not ready to let one incident change how I live my life.

We are all going to die one day and while that may sound morbid it is the absolute truth. Death is just a fact that most humans over a certain age are at least aware of and while I’m not ready to die, I do accept that it’s going to happen. My time could come when I’m 103 years old, shivering alone in the corner of an overcrowded nursing home or it could happen today as I drive to work or next weekend as I walk through a haunted corn maze. My point is I can be the most fearful and cautious person in the world but when death comes for me it won’t make a difference. So, with that being said I’m not going to let the actions of an idiot keep me from using my ticket at the corn maze next weekend, unless of course they give refunds.

corn-maze-shooting

 

Leave a Reply

