Letter to the President

Dear Mr. Trump,
Congratulations on becoming the new president elect of the United States. As the election results started to come in last night I had an involuntary, goofy smile on my face, not because I was pleased with the results, but because I thought it was pretty funny, like a joke we can look back on and laugh about before reality sets in. I was sure that once more votes were counted, the candidate that I was in favor of would take the lead and never look back, becoming the first female president of the United States, but as we all know now, that didn’t happen. As the votes kept being announced, and I realized that it was really happening, the smile left my face and didn’t return for the rest of the night. It’s still not there this morning but I’m sure at some point it will return along with my peace of mind. I’m not mad that you won the presidency, but I am incredibly concerned. Most people criticize the president for NOT doing what he promised to do in his campaign, but I’m worried that you WILL do the some of the extreme things you promised.

I truly hope that your tactics on the campaign trail, were just that, tactics, used somehow to your advantage to win the presidency, and not how you actually feel about Muslims, Mexicans, and Women. I hope now that you are in public office, the most public office, that you will tone down your rhetoric and show yourself to be more even keeled and pragmatic than I believe you to be at this time. I’m worried that you are going to run your mouth off angrily about something and piss of another country and start a war, here at home. I know you don’t care what other people think about you and feel that you deserve to say whatever you want but please tread cautiously and keep the people you govern in mind and keep us safe.

I see a lot of people on social media saying that they’re leaving the country now that your president, and while it seems to be a tempting option, I’m going to stay right here. I respect and believe in our election process and while I did not vote for you, millions of people did, so they must have seen something in you that I failed to notice. I trust that those who elected you knew what they were doing and wouldn’t have willingly voted for a monster, so I can take some comfort in that. It’s important to see things from the perspective of others and while I woke up with a terrible feeling in the pit of my stomach, others are celebrating your victory. In order to accept this reality and move on I’m going to stop judging you on what I’ve heard you say or seen you do in the past and allow you to start in my mind with a clean slate so to speak. Right now, Mr. Trump you have my support and I really hope the gut feeling I have about you is wrong.

Sincerely,
Kendall Curtis

Leave a Reply

