My Take on a Thanksgiving Controversy

With Thanksgiving this week I’m going to focus my blogs around the holiday and to start, today I’m going to weigh in on one of the biggest controversies when it comes to the traditional turkey day meal. First of all let me just say that I hate when people call it turkey day, but I’d already said Thanksgiving at the beginning of the sentence and didn’t want to be boring and redundant. I’m such a thoughtful writer. When it comes to the meal, people across the country generally eat turkey, but the side dishes to accompany the bird vary from family to family although several of them are pretty much had by all. I think stuffing or dressing is probably the most common side dish people have with their turkey, and variations of green beans, corn, and potatoes are also found on most Thanksgiving day spreads, and it is this last one that I’m focusing on today. Although almost everyone has potatoes, every family generally eats either mashed potatoes or sweet potatoes and thinks the people who prefer the one differently from themselves is wrong.

I honestly like both, and that’s why my Thanksgiving meal includes those two varieties and sometimes a third. It’s a day for consuming way too much food so why not splurge a little bit and make multiple kinds of delicious potatoes? The more the merrier is what I always say, when it comes to food anyway. With that being said there is a right answer to what kind of potatoes should be served with the meal if you’re only doing one and that is sweet potatoes. Don’t get me wrong, I love mashed potatoes. For years growing up mashed potatoes were my absolutely favorite food in the world and I still love them to this day, but if you’re table only has room for one it has to be sweet potatoes. My grandmother’s make an amazing sweet potato casserole with marshmallows on top and the sweetness of the dish compliments the turkey beautifully. Also, Thanksgiving is more about tradition than preference, it’s why we eat turkey instead of a much more delicious steak, or a chicken dish, or enchiladas for that matter. If I were at a restaurant looking at the menu and I had the choice between steak and mashed potatoes or turkey and sweet potatoes, I would choose the steak option every single time, but it’s just not the traditional meal on the last Thursday in November.

If you’re going to do the responsible and moral thing on Thanksgiving then there is no question that sweet potatoes are the way to go. It’s one day out of 365 that you need to make the choice to follow tradition rather than your preference. The most important aspect of the holiday is being around family and remembering to be thankful for what you have, followed closely by the Cowboys football game, but the third key focus of the day is on the food. So think about that while you plan your menu and do your grocery shopping, and choose to make sweet potatoes. If nothing else, at least you will be able to sleep soundly Thursday night knowing that you did the right thing.

Leave a Reply

