Today I’m Thankful For…

My two loving parents, two brothers, my wife, my grandmother, my mimi and pawpaw, the time I was able to spend with my grandaddy and the lessons he taught me, my job which I enjoy in part because of my wonderful boss and coworkers, the cool weather, the Dallas Cowboys and the fact that I get to watch them today, my wife’s family, all my aunts, uncles, and cousins, the fact that I live in one of my favorite places in the world, the memories I have of travel and family vacations, the delicious pumpkin pie I can smell cooking right now, Jack Kerouac for opening my eyes to a whole new type of literature, books in general, some of my former school teachers and coaches, all of the wonderful friends I’ve been blessed to have throughout my life, the fact that I don’t have to worry about having clothes to wear, food to eat, or a place to live, the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade (I’m not sure why but I’m pretty excited about it), all of the christmas music I will be able to listen to starting tonight, the Memphis Grizzlies, breathtaking views I get to see on a daily basis, Publix for letting me be a part of the family for more than two years, the warmth of my apartment to shelter me from the cool weather that I love so much, my relative sanity, the fact that I woke up this morning having not died (which would have cast a dark cloud over the holiday and ruined a few people’s day), this blog which has become very therapeutic for me, unsweet tea, biscuits and gravy, the TV I have to watch, and the furniture I have to sit on while watching said TV, all of the people who believed in me (don’t lose faith, I might still turn out alright), social media for giving me a platform to share my thoughts and ideas, Tony Romo and the years of mostly good memories he’s given to me as a Cowboys fan, all current and former military personnel for making our country a safe place to live where we don’t have to be afraid, police officers and firefighters who put their lives on the line every day to serve the community in which they live, Billy Bob Thornton for making Bad Santa 2, a movie I’m really looking forward to, Frosty the Snowman, Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, The Year Without a Santa Claus, Santa Claus is Coming to Town, and all of the other animated Christmas movies I have enjoyed throughout my life, a keen mind and competitive spirit that makes playing board games so much fun, my balding head that is a daily reminder that I’m not perfect, Harry Potter and the happiness that those books and movies brought to my childhood, how lucky I am for being born in the United States (things could have been much worse), those of you who take the time to read this blog (I’m very thankful), and for an infinite number of other things. Happy Thanksgiving. Be Thankful.

Leave a Reply

