Thanksgiving 2016: Food, Family, Football

img_3131

Yesterday morning began with my wife and I walking into Walmart at 6:15. No we didn’t get confused and think it was black Friday, nor did we realize we’d forgotten something that we needed that was crucial for the Thanksgiving meal. It was a calculated trip to Walmart in the wee hours of the morning, something we planned about five hours before, spurred into existence by a pie being dropped as it was being set in the refrigerator. It doesn’t sound all that believable but I wasn’t in the room when it happened and there were no witnesses to confirm my wife’s story. Also I don’t know why should we make up the story in the first place, it wasn’t like she was trying to sabotage the meal because she suggested making a new pie right away. Anyway I’m not a detective and I tell you all this to give a clearer picture as to why we were at the store so early on Thanksgiving day. Moving on.

We went back home, ingredients in hand to make a pumpkin pie, and my wife did that while I wrote for a little bit. Once that was done we got ready to go and with the brined turkey, hash-brown casserole, and pumpkin pie number two we went to my grandparents house. We preheated the oven and prepared the aromatics for the bird and pretty soon the turkey was cooking. It was a somewhat cool overcast day outside so while we waited on the turkey to cook my wife and I took full advantage of the weather and went for a walk around the neighborhood. When we made it back to my grandparents house we stayed out in the yard for a little while, inspired by the Tony Romo jersey I was wearing, and tossed the football back and forth.

As the day wore on and the turkey became more edible people started coming showing up. Coincidence? Anyway my uncle Brett, aunt Amy, and cousins Jay and Abigail arrived first and we spent some time talking in the living room while the fire in the fireplace cackled and popped, a scene straight out of a hallmark christmas movie. It’s always great to see them and I always enjoy the time spent just sitting around and talking. The turkey finished cooking and the final guest, my dad, still hadn’t arrived yet, but he rolled in a few minutes later, well before the side dishes had finished eating. Although my wife and I (mainly my wife) cooked the turkey, neither of us wanted any part in having to carve it, so my dad did the honor and soon we were enjoying our Thanksgiving meal. I had turkey and dressing topped with gravy, green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, hash-brown casserole, macaroni and cheese, a roll, cranberry sauce, and a fruit salad, all of which were absolutely delicious. I don’t know if eating with family makes things taste better but this was the first time in five years that I’d spent the holiday with my family, and only the second time to my recollection with my dad’s side of the family, but I’m not exaggerating when I say that I enjoyed every dish prepared yesterday.

After lunch and taking some time to digest, my wife and I along with my dad, uncle Brett, and cousin Jay all went out to the backyard and threw the ball around as we waited on the Cowboys game to start. It was kind of nice getting to watch a Thanksgiving day game with everyone cheering for the Cowboys as opposed to talking bad about them. Jay goes to school at Mississippi State and actually had a class with Dak Prescott a couple years ago, so everyone is a big Dak fan because of that connection among other things. Dallas won and I was ecstatic. For the first time in Dallas Cowboys franchise history they’ve won ten games in a row, and for that I’m incredibly grateful. We were going to put up the Christmas tree at home last night but my wife was too tired and in bed by nine, so I spent the remaining hours of Thanksgiving watching a pretty terrible Thursday night football game between the Steelers and the Colts. All in all it was a great day full of laughter, good food, family, and football, and I can’t wait to do it again next year.

Leave a Reply

