Rivalry Week

NCAA Football: Alabama at Auburn

It’s the Saturday after Thanksgiving and I hope you don’t regret how much you’ve eaten over the last few days because now is not the day to get out and be active. With a full slate of college football games today it would be completely irresponsible of you to do anything but spend this beautiful day sitting in front of the TV. It’s one of my favorite weekends of college football, rivalry week, and although I have to work and will have to miss several big games today, I hope that you are more fortunate than I. You can also continue to give thanks because I only have a few weeks left of making college picks and showing the world how idiotic I truly am, but I’m sure once the season concludes I will find other ways to make it apparent. As a clearly biased fan of Alabama, the Iron Bowl is the game I’m most looking forward to today, although it has me feeling a little nervous. The game between Alabama and Auburn is one that doesn’t care about an undefeated season or ranking and is a dog fight where an upset is certainly not out of the question. Auburn is decent this year, but I’m sticking with my team and picking the Crimson Tide to get the big win at home.

At eleven this morning is the biggest and most important game of the day between Ohio State and Michigan. I think most people are counting off Michigan and assuming they will lose on the road to the Buckeyes, but I’m not most people. Jim Harbaugh is a coach that wins, and does whatever it takes to do so, and that’s why I think Michigan gets the huge win on the road today which will keep Ohio State out of the playoff. Louisville is playing a pretty terrible Kentucky team today and coming off a huge loss on national TV to Houston I think the Cardinals will come out angry and ready to play today. Sorry Kentucky fans, but this isn’t basketball and it won’t be a good game. Louisville gets the win at home. At 2:30 there are several good games, none of which will be more exciting than the Iron Bowl, but if you make the bad decision of watching any of the other games, this is what you can expect. Wisconsin will beat Minnesota at home, West Virginia beats Iowa State on the road, and my big upset of the day is Michigan State getting the win over Penn State. I know it seems unlikely to happen but it’s a gut feeling that I have that the folks in Happy Valley won’t be so cheerful after the game. USC will continue their winning streak at home as they put a beating on a very disappointing Notre Dame team.

Tonight Tennessee takes on Vanderbilt and although the Vols have been wildly inconsistent throughout the season I’m confident that they will get the win on the road. Number 4 Clemson should have no trouble beating South Carolina at home and I’m taking Utah on the road at 9th ranked Colorado. The best game of the night match ups will be between Florida and Florida State. This is a game between two teams who I think have been overrated much of the season, and another one that has the potential to go either way. Although the game is at home for FSU, I’m picking the Gators to go on the road and get the win. Check out my twitter account @regularkendall throughout the day for live updates on how I’m doing with my picks and come back to the blog tomorrow morning and hear my incessant bragging if I do well, or my self loathing if I don’t. College football season is beginning to wind down so make the most of it and watch some of these great games today.

Leave a Reply

