Must Watch Christmas Movies

tim-allen-santa-cluase

It’s hard to believe that we are less than two weeks away from christmas, and even harder to believe that I’ve only watched one christmas movie this year. I’m normally so ready to watch all of my holiday favorites that it’s a struggle for me to wait until after Thanksgiving to start, and then it becomes a sprint to see how many christmas movies I can cram in, before the twenty-fifth, but unfortunately this year I just haven’t really made an effort to do so. The one christmas film I’ve seen this year is “I’ll be home for christmas”, you know, the one with Jonathon Taylor Thomas trying to get home to New York from college in California with things going wrong all along the way. If you aren’t familiar with this movie I highly suggest checking this light hearted comedy; it’s one I watch every year. While that movie is one of my favorites that falls into the category of “holiday movies”, it doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of everything I want to watch this year.

Of the animated christmas movies there are several that I want to make sure I watch in the next two weeks. Although I’m an adult in my mid-twenties, I would find it completely unacceptable if I balked on my moral responsibility to watch all of the old animated classics; “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”, “Frosty the Snowman”, “The Year Without A Santa Clause”, and my personal favorite, “Santa Clause is Coming to Town.” To me these are more than just movies, they’re nostalgia and tradition masked as movies, and those are two very key pieces to the holiday. Another animated classic I’m looking forward to watching is “A Charlie Brown Christmas.” It too is one that I grew up watching and might contain my favorite soundtrack out of all the animated christmas movies. If you grew up watching any of these movies, I highly recommend going back and watching them again as it will provide you a nice walk down memory lane, and if you are someone who hasn’t seen some of these before, then you need to make some changes in your life immediately. You don’t know what you’re missing.

Now that the cartoons are accounted for, we can get into the real meat of the christmas movies. With only one watched so far this year I’ve got a lot of catching up to do if I want to have time to watch all of my favorites. Starting with highest priority, I have to watch “It’s a Wonderful Life”, “A Christmas Story”, “Home Alone” (preferably 1 & 2 but for sure the first one), “Christmas Vacation”, and my personal favorite “The Santa Clause.” I’m counting on TBS to be running “A Christmas Story” for twenty-four hours as they tend to do on the 24th and 25th, so I can watch that one then. There’s a historic theater here in Memphis that is showing “It’s a Wonderful Life” next Tuesday, and is offering free admission if you bring a non-perishable canned food item, and it would be pretty cool to the movie there, so I’ll plan on that. I think I might have the “Home Alone” movies, and “Christmas Vacation”, as well as “The Santa Clause”, so making sure I see my top priority movies shouldn’t be a problem.

Finally, there are christmas movies that I really enjoy, and would love to see this year, but are not as high priority as the movies previously mentioned. These movies are, in no particular order, “Elf”, “Christmas in Connecticut”, “The Family Man”, “Christmas with the Kranks”, “Bad Santa”, “Miracle on 34th Street”, “How the Grinch Stole Christmas”, and “Jingle all the Way.” I might have a couple of these, and I will try to watch the one’s that I do have, but it’s not going to be the end of the world if I for whatever reason don’t get to some of these movies this year. If I were to pick from this list my top priorities, they would be “Elf”, “Christmas in Connecticut”, and “Bad Santa”, which is not only a hilarious christmas movie, but just a funny movie that would hold its own outside of the holiday genre. I hope you are a little more on top of things in terms of watching christmas movies than I am, but if not, it’s never to late to start. If there are any of your favorites that I left off the list, feel free to give me an earful, and I would love to know how my priorities compare to all of yours. Whatever you do this holiday season, whether you choose to watch these movies or not, from the bottom of my heart I hope you have a merry christmas.

Leave a Reply

