The Pick Six: Christmas Weekend

Happy christmas eve everyone and welcome to a special holiday edition of The Pick Six. In case you’ve forgotten, The Pick Six is where I choose what I think the most intriguing games of the weekend will be and subsequently pick the winners of those games. If I would have been better prepared, like my boy scout counterparts, I would’ve had the presence of mind to do this before Thursday’s Eagles/Giants matchup, but I didn’t, so get over it and let’s move on.

6. Tennessee Titans at Jacksonville Jaguars-12 pm (CBS)
I don’t think it’s going to be that great of a game to be honest with you, but there are a couple of things that I’m looking for out of Jacksonville today. First, I want to see how Tennessee handles a “sure win” game on the road less than a week after their huge upset in Kansas City less than a week ago. Tennessee looks more and more like a playoff team every week and I think today’s game against the abhorrent Jags will show us if their heart is really in it or if they’re taking the week off, just going through the motions. On the other side I’m looking to see how Jacksonville responds after their head coach, Gus Bradley was fired earlier in the week. It’s a stretch to think that they will make any significant improvements in a week but it will be interesting to see if the firing has had any affect on the players in terms of the amount of effort they show.

5. Indianapolis Colts at Oakland Raiders-3:05 pm (CBS)
This game is interesting to me because the Colts are still searching desperately for a playoff spot, and really need the win today to stay in the hunt. I thought they would beat Minnesota last week but I was completely shocked by how easily they did so. I don’t suspect they will score nearly as many points this week against a good Raiders defense, but I think it’s possible that they come away with the win. The Raiders have clinched a playoff spot for the first time in forever and don’t have all that much to play for now, while on the flip side the Colts are fighting for their lives. I’m picking Oakland to win, but I think it’s going to be a close game and wouldn’t be surprised if Indy got the upset on the road.

4. Arizona Cardinals at Seattle Seahawks-3:25 pm (FOX)
Sadly, the team that I thought would go to the Super Bowl from the NFC has been eliminated with two games left in an incredibly mediocre season. They go on the road to Seattle, which is arguably the hardest stadium to play in as the visiting team. On the other side, Seattle has clinched the playoffs already but I don’t think Pete Carrol is capable of or willing to let his foot of the gas pedal this late in the season, and am assuming his team will come out to play just as hungry as ever. I just don’t know what to think about Arizona right now, but I can say that I don’t think they’ll get the win.

3. Baltimore Ravens at Pittsburgh Steelers-3:30 pm Sunday (NFL Network)
These two teams in the AFC North are fighting neck and neck to win their division, with the Steelers currently in the lead by one game. All of that could be wiped away if the Ravens get the win and tie Pittsburgh’s record. Unfortunately, I don’t see that happening, but I still think it’s going to be a really good game. The Steelers will get the win at home and pull out of reach in the AFC North, slamming the steel curtain behind them.
2. Minnesota Vikings at Green Bay Packers-12 pm (FOX)
Few things in this world bring me as much joy and laughter as watching Sam Bradford play quarterback for the Minnesota Vikings. On any given day it’s pretty funny but put him in Green Bay in the middle of winter with snow on the ground and it should be downright hilarious. To me, Sam Bradford looks like a kid who dressed up like Sam Bradford for Halloween, and I just can’t wait to see the little tyke playing in the snow today. As far as the actual game goes, I don’t think Minnesota has what it takes to win the game today, although I’m not convinced that the Packers are really that great of a team at the moment. Green Bay gets the win, but they’ll need to make major improvements if they want to make any kind of noise in the playoffs.

1. Detroit Lions at Dallas Cowboys-7:30 pm (ESPN)
With two games left to play in the season, the Cowboys have clinched a playoff spot, home field advantage throughout the playoffs, and oh yeah, a first round bye. Life is good in Cowboy Country, but I think the game today will be a good test for our defense. I think Matt Stafford is one of the most under appreciated quarterbacks in the game, with possibly the best arm, and he’s looking to keep his team a step ahead of the Packers in the division, and in order to do Detroit needs the win on Monday. Sorry Lions fans, but it’s not going to happen, but Matthew Stafford and the rest of the Lions are naive enough to believe it might, so expect them to come out fighting adorably hard hanging in the game for a while, before Dallas overpowers them and takes them out of the game for good.

Leave a Reply

