New Year’s Resolutions and All That Crap

There is something beautiful about a blank page, pristinely white and unblemished, it’s blank face staring back at you, daring you to break the silence and write something, possibilities endless. Today, a lot of people see a blank page, the start of the new year, leave all the negative and unachieved dreams behind because there’s no room for that here, in the year where anything is possible. For me personally, I love all that crap about using this blank page of sorts to make improvements in my life or achieve goals that are important to me, and although I can’t recall a time that I’ve actually stuck to all my new year’s resolutions, that hasn’t diminished my hope, but rather that failure is what has me feeling more determined and hopeful than is generally the case on the first day of January.

If you read my blog yesterday, you know that one of my goals in 2016 was to read at least one book each week over the course of the year, totaling at least 52. I failed, and did so miserably, having only read 21, but I’m not going to let that discourage me, and am adding that first on my list of resolutions this year. Reading is very important to me not only because of the endless number of great books in the world that I must try to read before I die, but because I’m writing a book, and as the old adage goes, to be a great writer you must be a great reader. As far as writing goes, I have two resolutions this year; one, I will write a blog every single day, and two, I will write at least 1,000 words each day in my novel, until such a time arrives that I am satisfied with the work and feel that the story is complete.

Doing the blog each day should be the easier of the two goals as I’ve been doing it for about three months now, but it is still something that I have to work at and can’t let myself fall victim to laziness at any point. I think like the blog, hitting a daily word count for my book will become second nature once it’s part of my daily routine, so the first month or so will be crucial to achieving this goal. I’ve wanted to be a writer for as long as I can remember, so I think it’s about time I quit just wanting it, and get on doing something about making it happen.

My fourth and final resolution steps away from literary goals I have and focuses on my overall health. I am resolving to only drink water based drinks; water, tea (unsweet), and coffee for the entirety of the year. I don’t need soda or sugary drinks, in fact, I prefer tea over everything else, as evidenced by my ordering habits every time I’m out to dinner. The only exception I will make is allowing myself to drink skim milk at breakfast. I don’t know how this goal will impact my overall health but I’ve got to believe that there will be at least some kind of improvement gained by cutting all of those chemicals and sugar out of my life. Mine is a pretty modest list this year, much leaner than in years past, but these are four things that I really want to do this year and it might benefit my focus and dedication to only have a few resolutions to work on. I will keep you updated at least once a month in the daily blog which you can follow at kendallcurtisblog.wordpress.com. If you have your own list of resolutions, please share them in the comments below. Good luck to everyone trying to better their lives, and happy new year to all!

Leave a Reply

