Gone Girl

It was late at night, in the early months of last year, and I was flipping through channels on TV, unable to sleep and looking for something to occupy me until I felt tired enough for bed, when I came across a movie that looked interesting on HBO. It was called “Gone Girl” and was just about to start, so I decided to check it out. It was one of the most suspenseful and thrilling movies that I’d ever seen, and when it was over I felt a sense of disappointment even though it was great, because that’s when I realized that it was based on a book. I hate seeing movies before I read the book because it distorts my imagination and takes away the surprise and suspense that comes from experiencing a story for the first time. I made the mistake with “The DaVinci Code” and now I’d done the same thing with “Gone Girl.” I’m such an idiot.

I finally read the book last week and despite knowing the story already, “Gone Girl” captivated me in a way that few books have before. Every spare moment I had was spent reading the book and I finished it in three days, not bad for four hundred plus pages. It was so suspenseful that I literally did not want to put the book down because I NEEDED to see what would happen next. It’s the story of a married couple that begins on their five year anniversary. The wife disappears and the search is on to figure out what happened to her in this high profile news story. The story is told from two different perspectives, each chapter alternating between the husband writing in the present and the wife’s diary entries of the past. This is one of the only books I’ve ever read that left me feeling a little bit frightened when I turned the lights off at night, an incredibly eerie feeling that doesn’t often come from reading words on a page, but a feeling that I really enjoyed.

I recommend “Gone Girl” very highly, more so than other books I’ve written about on the blog, because while the other books were good, this one was elevated to another level by the suspense and mystery contained within the pages. Gillian Flynn has previously written a couple other books that I have added to my reading list and am looking forward to checking out as I eagerly await the possibility of a new novel, one that I will read before the movie comes out. I’m giving “Gone Girl” a 5 out of 5 rating, a must read for anyone who enjoys great writing and a thrilling story. For the past year and a half, “Disclaimer”, by Rennee Knight has been my go-to book recommendation when anyone asks, but I’m going to replace it with “Gone Girl.” It’s only the second week in January which means you can still amend your New Year’s Resolutions (you have until the 21st), so do yourself a favor and add “Read Gone Girl” to your list of goals, and I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

