My Advice to You, Never Forget

Today I pulled into work about 7:55, my normal arrival time. I was listening to sports talk radio and was about to look at twitter for a couple of minutes when the unimaginable happened. I reached into my pocket to pull out my phone but touched nothing but the inner lining of my pants. I had forgotten my phone at home this morning. I don’t know if you’ve ever been in this situation before but it was not something I look forward to repeating anytime in the near future. The day was weird. I felt like a part of my body had been cut off and I kept forgetting about it, only to be reminded each time I reached into my pocket to check the time, or text my wife, or listen to a podcast on my lunch break. I was in a haze all day and nothing seemed normal.

This wasn’t the first time I’d been without a phone though. When I was in high school I was stuck in my house on a snow day, my only connection to the outside world was the flip phone I kept dutifully by my side, texting my friends to see how they were spending their day away from school. I was in the process of typing as I sat on a stool in the kitchen drinking a glass of orange juice when the phone, unprovoked, slipped out of my hand, directly into the nearly full glass. I gasped as if someone had just pulled a gun out in front of me. I didn’t think I would ever make it through, but I had to wait two more days for the snow to stop and the roads to be cleared enough to get to the AT&T store, and when I finally unwrapped my brand new phone, I felt like a survivor.

I made it through a couple more years without any mishaps, but then one morning in college I turned on my phone and the screen kept getting whiter and whiter until all that was displayed was like a blank sheet of paper. I don’t remember exactly how long I went without a phone that time but it felt like an eternity. After a little while I grew accustomed to not having a cellular device and by the end it wasn’t much of an inconvenience at all. Eventually I was fortunate enough to get an old razr flip phone from my cousin that I could use and it was great, even though it was pink and got quite a few strange glances and questions about my color choice. I was sucked back into my dependent state and when I got my first iPhone, with the world at my fingertips, it became an extension of me. I made it years with my companion tucked safely inside my pocket or lying a few inches away from me at all times, that is until today. It was not something that I would wish on my worst enemy, so friend or foe, learn from my mistake and always make sure you have your phone before you leave the house. If I am able to save just one person through this whole ordeal then maybe it will all be worth it. Everyone has some contribution to make to this world and this is mine. In writing this, I feel that I have fulfilled my destiny.

Leave a Reply

