January 2017: What I Read

As the first month of the year comes to an end I would like to take this blog post to tell you all about what I’ve been reading and give some recommendations. My goal coming into 2017 was to read one book every week and so far I’m off to a great start, having read ten books this month. Here we go.

My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry: By Fredrik Backman- This was the first book I read this year and got 2017 off to a great start. I liked it so much I dedicated an entire blog post to it. The style of Backman is unique and I highly recommend this book if you’re looking for a quick and easy read.

Dixieland Delight: By Clay Travis- If you are a fan of college football or the SEC this book is an enjoyable must read. This is the story of Clay Travis visiting every SEC campus for a football game in one season. It’s funny and let’s you relive a football season from the perspective of a fan who generally had no rooting interest in most of the games.

Truly Madly Guilty: By Liane Moriarty- I have read several of Moriarty’s books over the past few years and while this wasn’t one of the better one’s it was a decent read. If you read it you will probably enjoy it, but if you don’t you’re not missing out on much.

Gone Girl: By Gillian Flynn- This is by the far the best book I’ve read this year and I can’t recommend it highly enough. It’s a suspenseful thriller told from two different perspectives that will keep you turning the pages late into the night. If you haven’t read it yet then you truly are missing out on an incredible story and need to rectify the situation ASAP. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, which is incredible by the way, you are luckier than I was, getting to read the story with no idea what will happen next.

Wild: By Cheryl Strayed- This book is one that I was really looking forward to, the story of a girl hiking on the Pacific Crest Trail and the things she learned along the way. It is critically acclaimed but I wasn’t all that impressed. This is the only book that took me the entire week to finish because the story wasn’t captivating enough to drag me back in each day.

Thirteen Reasons Why: By Jay Asher- I had been aware of this book for a while but never got around to reading it before this year. It is one that I finished in two days but would’ve loved to read straight through had I not had other responsibilities like work and sleep. Not only is it suspenseful and a great story but it really makes you think about the effect your actions and words can have on other people. I highly recommend this book.

After the Jump: By Geoff Calkins- This collection of articles from the past twenty years is perfect for a fan of Memphis sports. From the University of Memphis Tigers to the Memphis Grizzlies of the NBA, you can relive all the greatest moments of the city of Memphis and its sports teams.

Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend: By Matthew Dicks- Written from the perspective of an imaginary friend, this book is another stellar example of the author’s unique ability at creating a captivating character that nobody else can. It is suspenseful and a quick read. Matthew Dicks is a writer I discovered a few years ago in a used bookstore and quickly became one of my favorites. If you aren’t familiar with his work, it’s time to do yourself a favor and buy his books.

A Year in Provence: By Peter Mayle- I love travel writing and this book takes the reader on a year long vacation in the French countryside. I highly recommend this one and look forward to reading other things that Mayle has written.

Theodore Boone Kid Lawyer: By John Grisham- I have been a fan of Grisham for a long time and his first attempt at a young adult book was very successful. There are several other books in the series and I look forward to reading them as well. I would go as far to say that this young adult book is a better read than some of Grisham’s other more recent novels.

Leave a Reply

