My Confession

I have a confession to make. It’s something I’ve wanted to talk about for a long time on here, but haven’t built up the courage to do so until today. To be honest, I’m worried about the judgement I will face from the world once my secret is out in the open, but I suppose I will feel a bit relieved to share it. Okay, here it goes. I haven’t been to a movie in almost three years. I know, it’s shocking. I used to go to movies all the time when I was younger, like they were drugs and I was desperate for my next fix, but once I got married all of that changed. On our honeymoon, in Orange Beach, Alabama, Leticia and I went to see “The Wolf of Wall Street” and it was spectacular, but it was the last time I was ever in a movie theater.

I’m not exactly sure why we never went to the movies after that. It was a great movie, but I didn’t see it as so great that no other movie could live up to it. So I guess the question is, what happened? Thinking about it, the most obvious answer I can come up with is that I’m not really up to date on all of the movies that are being released. When I was younger I somehow just knew what was coming out and when, but now I have no idea. Sure there have been things over the years that I have heard about and thought “I think I would like to see that”, but ultimately I chose to spend my money on other things. I feel like a lot of upcoming movies are heard about through previews seen in other movies, and since I haven’t been in so long I’m completely out of the loop. When I do hear of something I think I’ll like and then decide not to go see it, I promise myself that I’ll rent it when it’s out on redbox, but that too rarely happens.

The last new film I saw was “Fruitvale Station” and that was at the end of last year when I watched it on Netflix. I genuinely like movies, but for some reason I mostly only watch sports or TV shows, but I think it’s time I make a change. I used to love going to movies, and it makes no sense that I would completely cut that joy out of my life, so I’m making myself a promise that sometime in the next month I will go to a theater and see a movie. I just hope that there is something worth spending money on. I don’t even know how much tickets cost these days. Three years ago I think I paid ten dollars for a ticket, so I’m guessing it’s quite a bit more now. I would appreciate any and all advice on what to go watch, because as I said, I have no idea what movies are out or are supposed to be good. I’m glad I finally got this off my chest and I hope that you don’t think too poorly of me for having neglected the wonderful art of film.

Leave a Reply

