Take Me Out to the Ballgame

This morning I woke up with a smile on my face. I could already see the sun coming through my bedroom window and knew, as my weather app had predicted, it was going to be a beautiful day. With the football season over, baseball couldn’t get here fast enough, and although it will still be about a month and a half before we see any meaningful professional baseball, the University of Memphis kicked off their baseball season this weekend with a three game series against the University of Tennessee. I wanted to go to the game yesterday but it was overcast and dreary, hardly the weather you want for the first baseball game of the season, so I skipped that one and decided I would go to today’s game on a much nicer, sunnier day. My wife and I were going to meet my dad at the game, but we were running a little bit late, something I absolutely hate, but we went grocery shopping and the store was super crowded with really long lines and there was little to be done about it.

My dad called as I turned on the street towards the stadium to let me know that the parking lot was packed and we’d probably have to park pretty far away and also that the only seats left were in the left field bleachers, which didn’t bother me too much. I just wanted to see a baseball game. After parking and walking to the stadium entrance which only took about five minutes, I approached the ticket window, told the man behind the glass we wanted two tickets, and pulled out my debit card to pay. He gave me a sympathetic look and told me that they only took cash. Was there an ATM anywhere I asked. Maybe at the concession stand he told me, but I would have to get into the stadium first, something I could not do without twenty dollars in cash. I texted my dad and told him the situation and that we’d have to drive to the bank up the road to get the money before we could join him behind the left field fence.

It is completely baffling to me how anywhere in this day and age doesn’t accept credit cards. I never have cash on me unless I know that I will absolutely need it, which is when I think I’ll have to pay for parking or want to buy a lottery ticket. I find it completely ridiculous that a college baseball stadium does not have a credit card machine, but there was nothing to be gained by mentioning this to the ticket guy, so we walked back to the car and drove to the bank, got some cash, and went back to find another parking spot. Before we parked I spoke to my dad again who decided that he was going to leave the game, as it was so hot, the bleachers were uncomfortable, and the view was pretty awful, probably a wise decision. I told him we would do the same, and decided that we would come to another game when we could get there early and find good seats. I am a bit disappointed about not going to the game but it just wasn’t meant to be. We’ll try again some other weekend, and hopefully I’ll remember to bring cash.

One thought on “Take Me Out to the Ballgame

  1. Where I live, having to pay in cash is still very much a thing as there are lots of small businesses…slowly they are starting to adopt Square, but there’s still a handful of places I go where I know I’m going to need cash or a check.

    Like

Leave a Reply

