We’re Getting a Dog

img_2255I’m getting a dog, and I’m not all that excited about it. It’s a dog I’ve known for years now, since I moved to Florida back in 2012. Her name is Mocha and she’s a brown chihuahua, and she’s the most frightened dog I’ve ever met, which should be a good fit for me since I’m afraid of most everything, but she absolutely hates me. Maybe she doesn’t hate me, but she really doesn’t trust me. She doesn’t trust anyone aside from my wife and my mother-in-law so I guess I shouldn’t be too offended, but forgive me for not wanting a dog that runs under the couch anytime I enter the room. She hasn’t had the easiest life; born the runt of the litter, her mom tried to eat her shortly after the birth, but she was saved by my wife, which is why she trusts her I suppose.

My wife has always talked about going back to Florida to bring Mocha back to live with us, and it always seemed like some future plan, but it’s finally taking place. My mother-in-law is moving and needs to get rid of the dog, so it’s either give her away to someone or my wife has to go get her. Leticia will be leaving Thursday morning to make the long drive to Florida, to help her mom get ready for the move, and return to Memphis in a week with a dog in tow. Mocha is really a cute dog, and maybe it’s too much to expect of her, but I want a dog that can be a companion, a dog that can accompany me on walks or play fetch, rather than a dog that barks at every noise she hears and poops under the couch. I’m very interested to see how this plays out since our couch offers no space for the two and a half pound chihuahua to scramble under for protection. In fact, there are very few places that she will be able to hide in our apartment, so maybe she will come to like me by way of necessity, but I’m not holding my breath.

I like dogs, but getting Mocha just seems like it will be more hassle than it’s worth. On top of the long trip to Florida and back, we have to pay a security deposit for her, which if I’m being completely honest, is about four times more than it would cost to buy her. We will also be charged extra for our rent each month which I’m not crazy about, but my wife really wants her and hates the idea of her living with strangers, so she’s coming whether I like it or not. I guess in the big scheme of things, perhaps it is worth it because it’s something that will make my wife happy, and who knows, maybe the move to Memphis will get Mocha out of her shell. I guess the one positive is that owning a dog should give me quite a bit to write about in the future, and maybe some of it will be good. Wish me luck, because in a week in a half I’ll have a new roommate, one who doesn’t seem to mind barking at any hour of the day or night.

Leave a Reply

