Best Movie I’ve Been to in 3 Years

Today I went to the movies for the first time in more than three years, and it was fantastic. First off, it only cost me eight dollars, about forty-two dollars less than I was expecting movies would cost in 2017, so I was pumped about that. I walked over to the food counter and ordered the triple combo, popcorn, a drink and candy. What would I like to drink? Pibb Xtra of course, I am human after all. What candy would I like? Chocolate covered raisins. For as long as I can remember, raisinets have been my go-to movie theater candy, although for reasons I can’t explain, I absolutely despise raisins when they aren’t coated in chocolate. The girl at the counter asked me if that was a medium or large candy item, as if I were the one working and knew into which classification the snacks fell into. I told her it was on the middle shelf, the best possible answer I could come up with, but apparently it was not the one she was looking for. Her coworker arrived behind her and said it was a medium candy. After it was all said and done I spent $13.75 on the triple combo, which has got to be one of the biggest markups on a product that is sold here in the United States, but I’m not going to sit in a dark room like an idiot without eating anything, so I reluctantly paid the ridiculously high price for the snacks.

The movie I saw was “La la Land” and if you haven’t seen it I’d highly recommend it, although it’s probably not for everybody. It’s a musical and a love story so if you aren’t into that type of movie then I would definitely advise you to skip this one. Personally I like musicals, and this one was absolutely incredible. The songs were great and the musical score throughout the film was perhaps one of the best I’ve ever seen. The story of a jazz musician with dreams of one day opening a club and a wannabe actress who hadn’t had her big break yet was told perfectly. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone played the roles perfectly and it was a joy to watch. Their singing was really good, and Gosling playing the piano was definitely a pleasure to hear. It was the kind of movie that made me want to go out to a jazz club and be swept up in the passion of the musicians. Leaving the theater I searched for a jazz station on the radio but had no luck finding one, so I’ll definitely be downloading some to my iPhone in the near future. I don’t buy a lot of movies now that I have Netflix, but I will definitely purchase “La la Land” once it comes out on DVD. If I were rating it, I’d give it a ten out of ten, and I can say with absolute certainty, that it’s the best movie that I’ve been to in three years.

Leave a Reply

