My Wife is Coming Back

This morning I woke up to rain crashing against the windows of my apartment, but there was no chance that the stormy weather could bring me down today. It’s a day I’ve been looking forward to for almost two weeks and it has finally arrived. Tonight my wife is returning from Florida, and although there will be two dogs accompanying her that I’m not too thrilled about, I’m going to focus on the positive aspects of her return. Since we started dating this stretch has been the longest we’ve ever been apart, and if I’m being completely honest, it’s a miracle I’ve survived. I used to love to cook, but it seems that I’ve apparently forgotten all that I knew on the subject, and have been resorting to some extreme measures to ensure that I don’t starve to death until my wife came back and prepared me some of her delicious meals. I think I’ve eaten more fast food and take out in the past week than I ever have previously in my entire life. I’m pretty sure the workers at Taco Bell know my name, which is altogether embarrassing. For breakfast I’ve relied on microwaveable sausage biscuits, which taste about as good as they sound, and lunches have consisted of sandwiches, when I remember to thaw the bread, and potato chips, a terrible diet that I’m sure many of you are shaking your heads at as you read this.

There are some other things that will be nice once my wife returns, like having someone to talk to about my day rather than sitting in my living room like a crazy person, as I ramble on and on to my lamp that only seems mildly interested anyway. I can’t tell you how great it will be to save my wife next to me in bed again, so that if someone breaks into my apartment while I’m asleep, I won’t be the first person that the intruder sees. Having a shield really puts your mind at ease, trust me. Since she’s been gone I haven’t been able to perform my morning ritual of getting woken up by her six alarms in the morning, and have only been woken up by my one. It’s been terrible not waking up every seven minutes until I feel like I’m going to go crazy.

I joke, but seriously I’m so glad that Leticia is coming home today. It’s tough seeing someone every day and then suddenly come home to nobody. The past week and a half have made me realize just how lucky I am to have somebody like her, and it’s comforting to know that she’s legally bound to me for life. It would have been nice to go to Florida with her, but the time apart was good in it’s own way. I realize just how fortunate I am to have the perfect person to spend the rest of my life with and I need to make sure I remind her how grateful I am for that. Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go fold some laundry so my wife returns home to a clean house and also so the dogs don’t mistake the pile of clothes on the living room chair as their new bed.

Leave a Reply

