Holey Moley

It’s not like this came as any big surprise to me, sneaking up on me out of the blue. I’ve seen it happening for years now, time after time, but still today when I got home from work and saw it, I couldn’t help but feel a bit upset about it. When I arrived home I do what I normally do and get out of my work clothes as quickly as possible. It’s not that I hate them but I do have my limits on how long I can wear dress clothes without going crazy. My sweater and button down shirt were off by the time I reached the bedroom and my pants followed, shortly after kicking off my shoes. I pulled on some white shorts made out of the same beautiful material as sweat pants and put on my blue polo t-shirt, and let out a deep breath. I could finally relax. I walked into the bathroom and looked in the mirror and that is when it caught my attention, two small holes on both sides of the pocket on my shirt.

These holes have been forming on every single polo t-shirt that I own with a pocket and they are always in the same place, right above both of the top corners of the pocket. This has been happening for as long as I can remember, but today looking in the mirror it really annoyed me more than usual, and is why I’m calling out Ralph Lauren. If this had just happened to one shirt or even two, I might have written it off as a fluke mistake and thought nothing else of it, but it has happened without exception on every single one, which is very revealing about the quality of clothing at one of the world’s biggest fashion brands. I realize that polo t-shirts aren’t the most expensive in the world, but they do cost more than most of my other t-shirts.

I am of the belief that as a consumer I can pay more for a higher quality item. If I choose to buy something cheap, then I can’t be surprised to find out that it’s made of cheap materials and comes apart easily, but when I choose to spend more on something, I should be able to assume that it will hold up better than other products that cost less. None of my other shirts, not the three pack I bought from Walmart, or the fifteen dollar t-shirt from Dillards, have the visible signs of wear that my polo t-shirts do, and I’ve had some of those other shirts for years longer than I’ve had some of the Polos. I’m not going to boycott Ralph Lauren, because when it comes down to it, I love most of their clothes but the next time I’m in the store and need to buy a t-shirt, I’m almost one hundred percent certain that I won’t be purchasing a polo, at least not one with a pocket anyway.

2 thoughts on “Holey Moley

Leave a Reply

