Quitting My Job

I’m quitting my job tomorrow. No, not my full time job I have at the bank, but my other job at the park that I truly love. It’s hard when telling an employer you are quitting, heck, a couple of times over the past ten years I haven’t told anyone at all but taken the much easier option of just not showing up. It’s just too much, working at the bank forty hours a week and then going to work at the park on the weekends. It makes me feel terrible that I’m quitting the job but each time I’m scheduled I feel a slight resentment towards it. I don’t work with my boss tomorrow so I suppose I’m going to go into work and then call her to tell the news. I’m not a big fan of confrontation but I feel that it’s something that needs to be done. Does that make me selfish that I don’t want to work six hours every other weekend at the park? Maybe it does, but I just can’t take it anymore. I miss my two day weekends.

When I started working at the park in September it was a godsend. I relished every moment that I stood in the cafe and looked out across the beautiful water, but now, though I still love the scenery and the people, I can’t justify working on the weekends to myself. It’s a wonderful place but once my hours started getting cut after the new year it was hard to justify it. I feel that in the big scheme of things my role at the cafe is very insignificant, but still I find it hard to quit the job that I no longer need. The boss is one of the greatest people I know and I hate to think that I’m letting her down like this, but I can’t keep going on in this manner knowing that I really don’t want to be there. It’s not fair to me, and perhaps more importantly it’s not fair to the place that I work.

Leaving jobs has never been easy for me. In fact, in the past I chose to just not show up and to get fired on more than one occasion rather than to quit the job, most likely an error in judgement on my part. I don’t know if you’ve ever felt it before but it’s a pretty terrible feeling waking up on the first day of your weekend and having to go to work. Perhaps I should be grateful, I have two jobs after all, but the truth is I am not and would rather be doing things I enjoy on a Saturday rather than standing in a cafe and making coffee and small talk. I guess maybe I’m selfish but I want a little time for me to do what I want. I do love the park but I’d rather be there as a random citizen than to be there because I have to be. I hope it doesn’t make me a terrible person but my mind is made up. Tomorrow, when I arrive at my second job at noon, I am going to tell my manager that I’m quitting. I’ll give my two weeks notice, but there will be no talking me out of it, for the decision has been made.

2 thoughts on “Quitting My Job

  1. Definitely does NOT make you a bad person. Reclaim your weekends, the Kitchenette will be fine. Totally understandable, I’m sure your boss will get it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

