Room: A Book Review

IMG_3442Over the past couple of months I have strayed away from dedicating an entire blog post to a single book for a myriad of reasons. Firstly, it’s not all that easy to write a complete book review while giving absolutely nothing away. Secondly, I read so much that if I were to do a book review each time I read something new I would theoretically be doing one every week which would I’m not too eager to do, because lastly and perhaps most importantly, very few people seem to care what I think about books, based on the number of link clicks I get for my blogs on the topic. Don’t get me wrong, I love sharing what I’ve been reading, but if it’s just not something my readers are interested in, then it makes very little sense to write about books as often as I had been. That being said, I just got through reading a book so good that a blog post hardly does it justice, but it will have to do, because I’m not sure how else to honor its greatness, but I did know that it deserved its own post, rather than being crammed in with a bunch of other books I read for the month, so that’s what this is.

The book is called “Room” and if you’re like me you probably had never heard of it until the movie came out last year, and perhaps maybe you still haven’t, but you are in luck tonight, because by becoming aware of this fantastic novel, you are no longer living in the dark. The story begins for us, on the fifth birthday of Jack, but the real story had been happening long before we meet the young narrator. Told from the perspective of the five year old boy, “Room” is captivating from the very beginning and a book that is truly hard to put down because with each turn of the page you get closer to finding out what happens to Jack and Ma. Some parts are tragic and you feel the pain that Ma feels trapped in her boxed in life with only her son to keep her company each day. The innocence of Jack is so wonderful that sometimes I found myself laughing at his contentment in the horrible situation that he was born into.

I’ve been fortunate to read quite a few good books so far this year, and I’m not sure where “Room” ranks on the list, but it is a very good book that I highly recommend. Overall I give it a 5 out of 5 because of the great story that is full of suspense and also because the voice of the narrator that speaks to the reader through the pages has the ability to inflict his emotions and feelings upon us, and it’s absolutely incredible. It’s a pretty quick read because you won’t want to put it down, so if you’re looking for something to do this weekend, you definitely won’t be disappointed if you go pick up a copy of “Room” by Emma Donoghue.

Leave a Reply

