My Trouble With Craigslist

I created this blog at the end of last August, and for the past seven months I have committed to writing a blog each and every day, and for the most part it’s been a lot of fun, but that really wasn’t my main focus when I started doing this. I love writing and wanted to get my voice out there, wherever there may be, and share my stories and opinions with anyone who may be interested in it. I wanted to build a following of people who enjoyed reading what I had to say, so that someday when I finish writing my book there will be people who might be interested in reading that too. For the most part I have been pretty consistent with the number of people I draw to my blog on a daily basis, but last week I decided it wasn’t enough and that I needed to branch out more, away from social media, to give people I don’t know the opportunity to read the blog as well, so I made the decision to post an article on Craigslist, and that is when the trouble started.

I copy and pasted my blog post, “My Wife is Leaving Me” into the rants and raves section of the Craigslist personal ads, with a sentence below it telling people they could read more of my writing on my WordPress website. It is one of my most popular blog posts to date, and it showcases the kind of humor that I try to portray in most of my other blogs, so it seemed like the perfect choice to try and draw outsiders in. By the way if you haven’t read that one and are interested, I’ll post a link to it in the comments below. Now I’m sure a lot of respectable people use Craigslist for a variety of different reasons, but it seems like I have attracted a very unique type of person through the personal ads, the creepy people of society.

Over the past week my blog traffic has nearly doubled in size, but the downfall is I’ve been receiving really weird emails from some of the Craigslist readers on a daily basis. There have been a handful of emails that are nice, saying they enjoyed the post and thought it was funny, but the vast majority of what I receive in my inbox are unwanted sexual advances, usually from males. I don’t want to condemn anyone’s sexuality or preference when it comes to that sort of thing, but I want to state for the record, once and for all, that I’m not at all interested, so if you have the urge to email me something like that, you are wasting your time. I’ve considered over the past week, whether or not these creepy emails are worth the increased blog traffic, and whether or not I should continue to post on Craigslist to reach new people, and while I don’t love receiving the emails, it is a small price to pay to help me achieve my goal of getting more followers. We all have to make sacrifices, and I suppose this is mine.

One thought on “My Trouble With Craigslist

Leave a Reply

