Skipping My Last Day of Work

Over the course of my working career I’ve had quite a few different jobs. I’ve worked at a couple pizza places, tried to sell houses, and even stood on the side of the road in the hot Florida summer holding a sign for a going out of business sale, and on more than one occasion, I have quit these jobs in very irresponsible ways. I have written here on the blog about my first job as an umpire and how I just walked away from the field in the break between a double header never to return, and more than once I have just quit showing up, content to be fired rather than face the confrontation, but tomorrow is my last day working at the park, and this time I did things the right way. I made the call to my boss two Saturdays ago, and gave her my two weeks notice, and while it was hard to do and I felt pretty stressed beforehand, as soon as I hung up, it felt as though a weight had been lifted from me, a pretty good sign that I’d made the right decision.

Tomorrow is the first of April, April Fool’s Day, one of my favorite days of the year, and I can’t help but think about what a great prank it would be to let everyone think I’m going to work, and then just not show up. Okay, so maybe it wouldn’t be all that funny but at least I could spend tomorrow being lazy or enjoying the nice weather, rather than being in a kitchen making salads and sandwiches for the countless people who will be in the park tomorrow. Seriously, there’s going to be way too many people, so many are expected in fact that I had to go by there yesterday and pick up a parking pass to guarantee that I would actually be able to have a parking place at my job. It’s the perfect storm of really nice weather, and the park holding an Earth Day celebratory festival, that will bring the people of Memphians in hordes to the park, and to the cafe where I work, forcing me to spread avocado on bread for hours on end.

While I would absolutely love to not show up to work tomorrow, I just don’t think I have that kind of irresponsibility in me anymore. It’s scary I know. I can’t believe that somehow in the past ten years I have matured to the point where I care about how my actions will affect those around me, but that’s where we’re at now. I’ll go to work on a Saturday, my last day at the park, probably begrudging my job as I make the seven minute walk from the overflow parking lot to the cafe, but the truth is, once I get there, I’m sure I’ll enjoy myself, because despite how crowded the park will be and how busy I’ll be my entire shift, I have some really great coworkers that I genuinely enjoy being around. The hardest part in deciding to quit my job was knowing that I wouldn’t be around these awesome people as much, but at least I have tomorrow, to talk and laugh with them one last time before the tie that binds coworkers together is severed. So in a way I’m looking forward to that, and since it’s supposed to be annoyingly crowded, it should be a great day for tips, and really, isn’t that what’s most important in life?

Leave a Reply

