March Goals

March has come and gone and with the passing of another month it’s time for my obligatory blog post about how I did last month in sticking to the goals I made on New Year’s day. The easiest one has still been writing a blog every day, although I’m not really in the mood to write one at the moment. It’s been a long week and I have to work tomorrow and just want to relax and watch the Grizzlies basketball or Cardinals baseball game, which I’m sure I’ll do as soon as I finish doing what I have to do. In writing daily sometimes I feel like I have nothing to say and other times I feel like I can’t stop talking, so hopefully going forward I will have more of the latter than the former.

In the first month of the year I was a stud (or a nerd) when it came to reading and I read ten books, easily surpassing my goal of reading one per week, however I fell off in February and didn’t finish a single book. In March I did a little better, finishing two books, and although I didn’t read a book every week, I am still on pace to average a book per week throughout the year so I guess that’s good. The first book I read was “Room” by Emma Donoghue and it was definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year. I dedicated a whole blog to it earlier last month so feel free to check it out if you want. I definitely would highly recommend you checking that one out. The other book I read in March was “Pet Semetary” by Stephen King. I hadn’t read any King novels before last year because I was kind of turned off by a short story of his I read years earlier, but in an attempt to see if a book could actually scare me I decided to read “The Shining.” It didn’t scare me in the least but it was pretty good, so this year I read my second Stephen King novel.

I enjoyed “Pet Semetary” more than I did “The Shining” but I wouldn’t recommend it. It was good, but it’s not like a life changing book or anything, it’s just a good story that takes a while to read. I place the full blame of not reading more than two books last month solely on the back of “Pet Semetary” the five hundred plus page novel that took me a couple of weeks to get through. My other goal that I’m still trying to stick with is working on writing my book every day, and for the first time since I made the goal, I’m proud to say that I’m actually doing it. I’ve got into a nice routine of writing my book, which I think might have something to do with me not being as enthusiastic about writing the blog all the time, because in all honesty I’ve found the story that I’m writing to be so much more fun than the blog. In terms of sticking to my goals, March has by far been my best so far, but I’m not all that confident that I can keep it up. Check back next month to see if I’ve gone back to being a failure, and check back every day to find an original blog, written by me, that may or may not entertain you.

Leave a Reply

