My Terrible Morning

Today I woke up at 6:45, which may not seem like anything worth mentioning to you as it’s a pretty common wake up time, and has been for the past few months the time my alarm has gone off every single day, but this morning when I got up at that time, I was upset with myself. This week, at least until today I’d woken up at 5:45, an hour earlier, to get a jump on my day and get in some writing and coffee before I have to get ready for work, and for those two days I was happy in my situation. I’m the non-driven type of person who believes in the old adage of working to live rather than living to work, and do something that I enjoy doing before spending nine hours at my job has made me feel like I do other things besides work during the week, an important distinction for me so I don’t grow to hate and resent my job. But today, I woke up late, which was just the start of my terrible morning.

I turned on the shower and walked down the hall to get a towel out of the closet, only to find that there weren’t any in there. Another part of being someone who lacks drive to do things that don’t interest me, leads to using all of the towels before washing them, a terrible flaw that came back to bite me today. The towels were all in the washing machine, soaking wet, so I was faced with the dilemma of using a hand towel to dry off, or a t-shirt. I chose the hand towel which absorbed all the water from my hair immediately before I had the chance to dry off any other part of me. It was just one of those days. Today in my clothing rotation, the white shirt with blue stripes was up, a shirt that I don’t really like all that much because it feels tighter than my others, but again my procrastination when it comes to laundry left me with little choice but to wear that one. I put it on and went into the bathroom to brush my hair that decided to be especially uncooperative today, and one of my coworkers commented that it looked like I just got out of bed and came to work. It really was a pretty bad morning.

I arrived a couple minutes late to work, ready for the day to be over. Luckily my day turned around when I found my first counterfeit bill since I started working at the bank. You gotta enjoy the little things in life. When I got home my new water bottle had arrived, one that will keep beverages cooler for extended periods of time and hold more liquid than the tumbler I currently drink out of. All in all it turned out to be a pretty good day, despite my terrible morning. Maybe tomorrow will start off better.

Leave a Reply

