I’m Not Going to Music Fest

The Beale Street Music Festival, is going on in downtown Memphis this weekend, but I will not be going. “What?! Do you hate music and everything that is good about the world?!” is what you may be thinking, and while it is true that I dislike a lot of things in life, cotton balls, lazy eyes, and summer among other things, music, especially of the live variety is not one of them. When I moved to Memphis last summer, I had every intention of going to the music fest, the official kickoff of Memphis in May when it rolled around, but then the lineup came out and everything changed. If I could have just moved a few months earlier, back in April of last year it would have been perfect. Some of my favorite bands, Weezer, Panic at the Disco, Cold War Kids, Barenaked Ladies, and Bastille were all here last year and I wanted to see them so bad that I considered coming up from Florida for the weekend, an idea that quickly dissipated as I realized how expensive it would be.

When the lineup came out this year I was disappointed to say the least. In 2016 there were five bands that I was considering driving more than a thousand miles round trip to see, but this year, there wasn’t even one that I wanted to pay the price of admission for. Kings of Leon, Snoop Dogg, Soundgarden, Sum 41, The Strumbellas, X Ambassadors, Death Cab for Cutie, Taking Back Sunday, and Jimmy Eat World are all musicians that I would like to see, but I’m not like a crazy fanatic about them, the way I am with some of the bands that came last year. I know enjoy their music and know a few of their songs, but I just couldn’t justify paying the price of admission to see them. I would pay like twenty bucks to see Sum 41 or fifty to see Snoop, but for a three day pass to see both of all of the bands would cost me somewhere around 150, so that is why I’m not going.

I’m not a complete scooge who thinks it’s a waste of money to go to the music fest, but it’s just not something I can do right now, but by all means, if one of you out there has an extra ticket, I would be more than happy to accompany you to the riverfront and even pay for parking. I’m nothing if not generous. I hope that everyone in attendance has a great time and enjoys the weekend while I’m here at home, counting down the days until next year’s Beale Street Music Fest arrives. Hopefully when the lineup is announced next year I will feel more of an urge to buy tickets than I did this year, or maybe I won’t, but on the bright side, at least I’m able to save a little bit of money that I can waste on other things like a pair of the new Lonzo Ball shoes. Just kidding. I’m not that rich, or that eager to be called an idiot.

Leave a Reply

