For My Mom

IMG_1521It’s mother’s day so I want to use the blog today to talk about mine. My mom is one of the most important people in my life and I love the time I’m able to get to spend with her, whether it’s a quick trip down to Searcy where I only stay for the night or in a remote cabin in northern Minnesota where we get to spend a whole week together. For all that she’s done for me in my life, I will be forever grateful and indebted to her. Some of my happiest memories from childhood are doing things with my mom, like spending the day hiking up pinnacle mountain, or playing baseball in the front yard. How many other mom’s out there can wear a baseball glove on one hand and hold a bat in another, tossing the ball up from the glove and hitting me and my brothers endless ground balls and pop-ups with the other hand. We’d throw the ball back to her, which she’d catch every time, unless it was a bad throw on our part, and start the whole process over again.

A few years ago we took a family vacation to Destin, Florida, and on the very last morning we were there, my mom and I woke up early to walk along the beach, enjoying the sunrise and the waves crashing at our feet. Later that day she slipped by the swimming pool and shattered her kneecap and since has had multiple surgeries and been through unimaginable pain as a result, but on that day as she sat in her hospital bed in Destin, she said “at least it happened on the last day of vacation”, thankful for the time she was able to enjoy, rather than focusing on the fall and letting that cloud her judgement of the entire trip. My mom is the kind of person that always looks for the positive in any given situation, and has been a constant source of encouragement for me. She could have used her injury to sulk and lie around the house doing nothing, it would have been a valid excuse, but she used her time that she couldn’t work studying to complete her master’s degree, something she achieved last year, and I couldn’t be more proud. She has always encouraged me to not give up on things I want to do, to always persevere, but those aren’t just words, she leads by example.

She constantly asks how my writing is going, and even gives me feedback when I need advice. In fact, the book I’m currently writing and am about halfway finished with, never would have come into existence without my mom. I knew the premise of the book I wanted to write, but there was a gaping hole, a “why were the characters in this situation” type of plot hole and I was struggling to come up with a decent idea, but I talked to my mom about it and after thinking it over for just a couple of seconds, she gave me and idea and that was the beginning of my book. Thank you mom for the constant encouragement and love that is never ending. I love you. Happy mother’s day.

Leave a Reply

