I’ve Been Reading Naked

A week ago I started reading naked and it has definitely changed my life for the better, and I would highly suggest that you follow suit. Naked, a collection of essays by David Sedaris, one of my all time favorite writers, will have you laughing out loud, leaving those around you to assume you are a lunatic, but it is well worth it. I’d read this book for the first time about eight years ago after being introduced to Sedaris by a college english professor, and since that time have read other collections of his essays that have never disappointed. Although I’d already read the book once, I didn’t remember any of the stories or details therein except for the fact that he grew up in North Carolina, so unlike other books I have reread, Naked was just as funny, perhaps even more so now, than it was when I read it as an eighteen year old.

I also just got done reading The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty, a writer I’ve only recently discovered in the past couple of years and it too was a pretty good read. Moriarty’s storytelling ability from two different perspectives is a unique one that is fun for the reader and is a staple of her writing style. While I prefer The Husband’s Secret and Big Little Lies over The Hypnotist’s Love Story, it is still a book worth reading if you are looking for something to fill the void until Moriarty’s next book comes out. At the very least it will have you intrigued enough to keep coming back to find out what happens next, so as summer approaches, I think this would be a good one to take on a vacation where you want to be entertained but not so much intellectually challenged by what you’re reading.

Before The Hypnotist’s Love Story I read Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, a book written years ago, set in the future where books are banned and the fire department starts fires rather than puts them out. Fahrenheit 451 was for me at least a very fun and interesting book that has me wanting to read more of Bradbury’s work. As someone who loves books almost as much as anything else, it puts me in the main character’s situation, wondering what I would do if books were illegal. Is preserving the works of some of the great writers in history worth going to jail for? If I worked for the fire department and was responsible for burning books that people were illegally hiding, would I be able to go through with it. Fahrenheit 451 shows the reader just how unbearable the world would be without books, and I think if placed in that world I would have some very tough decisions to make. Out of these three books, this one is the most intellectually stimulating while Naked by Sedaris is the most fun. If you have to pick one of these three to read, I’d highly recommend Naked, because once you get a taste of Sedaris’s witty writing style you will be begging for more, and luckily he has several more books to satisfy your cravings.

Leave a Reply

