Last Burger on Earth

IMG_3587About two weeks ago, in my never-ending search for the best burger in Memphis, my brother-in-law went to lunch at a midtown burger joint, that I’d been wanting to try for a while. I know I recently claimed that the Hickory Burger at Houston’s was the best burger I’ve ever had, and I stand behind that statement, I will continue to search far and wide to see if there is a burger in existence that can topple the Hickory Burger from its throne at the top of the mountain. We pulled into the parking lot behind LBOE, which stands for Last Burger on Earth, and walked into the restaurant about eleven thirty, where we were seated immediately. There was one other party dining there at the time, and they were seated out on the patio, so my first impression of the empty restaurant left me a little nervous, wondering if the food was really that good, given that we made up half of the people eating here. I looked over the menu, which contained a pretty good variety of different kinds of hamburgers, but decided since it was my first time there, I’d go with the burger the restaurant was named for, and told the waitress I wanted the LBOE burger cooked medium.

The waitress was very good and attentive and the food came out pretty quickly, a perk of eating at an almost empty restaurant. The LBOE burger was placed before me on the table, and I can honestly say that it was the largest burger that I’d ever been served before, so I was even more excited than I had been about trying this restaurant in the first place. In between the buns and on top of the gigantic meat patty was havarti cheese, roasted garlic cream cheese, hardwood smoked bacon, green chiles, and corn chips. I picked up the burger and wedged the corner of it into my mouth, which was a challenge in itself, and took a big bite, as cheese covered toppings slid out the back of the bun and into the basket. The burger was overcooked, well done, rather than medium like I’d ordered, which deprived me of all the natural juices that could have made it spectacular.

Honestly I felt that all of the toppings were a little much, a combination of flavors that left my palate somewhat overwhelmed. It undoubtedly would have been better had the burger been cooked correctly, but as it was, I found the much anticipated LBOE burger to be disappointing and it left a lot to be desired. I’m not completely writing off LBOE, in fact I’m pretty eager to go back and try some of the other burgers. I just hope that next time, whoever is in the kitchen actually gives me a medium cooked burger, because I really think that simple distinction of how it’s cooked, can make or break the meal. If you haven’t been to LBOE, I would recommend giving it a try so you can come away with your own conclusions, and if you want fast service without a wait, I’d recommend going on the weekend about eleven thirty. I would love to hear your opinions on what you think of LBOE so tell me in the comments what I can do next time, to make sure that I have a better experience.

One thought on “Last Burger on Earth

Leave a Reply

