The Dirty Crow Inn: Lunch With Dad

IMG_3974
Yesterday I woke up at three in the morning, involuntarily because I was leaving the beach at four, but my stressful body clock decided it was time for me to wake up, an hour before I was going to get on the road, so by eight o’clock last night, I was more than ready to go to bed. I slept for more than twelve hours, which is an incredible waste of time, but I woke up today feeling refreshed, which I suppose is a good thing. My wife and I were going to meet my dad for lunch, and since he let me pick the place, we decided to go to The Dirty Crow Inn, after my quick google search of new Memphis restaurants. We arrived at a quarter ’til noon, and joined my dad at the high top table he was already sitting at. I ordered an unsweet tea and looked over the menu, struggling to decide on what to order as there were multiple options that looked great to me. I got the “We Don’t Bluff Burger” which was a hamburger with bacon, cheese, barbecue sauce, and fried onion straws.

While we sat waiting for the food to arrive I looked around at our surroundings, cool artwork covering the walls in the darkened dive bar. The restaurant was in an area of town I had never been to, one that gave the feeling of needing to lock the car doors. My burger arrived and it looked fantastic, even though the waiter slash bartender didn’t ask me how I wanted the burger cooked. For the record I would have picked medium, but it arrived well done, and I remained skeptical before I took my first bite. The hamburger although cooked well done, was absolutely delicious, the onion straws providing a nice contrast to the beef. It wasn’t the best burger I’ve ever had, but it wasn’t at all disappointing, every bite I took more savory and sweet than the last. It was a great meal, the fries cooked perfectly, the skin of the potatoes still prominent on each of the fries I ate. I’m not willing to crown the burger as the best in Memphis, but it was far from disappointing.

The dirty crown inn was very food, and by the time we were done I was one hundred percent satisfied with my section. My dad got the chicken wings, which were marinated for twenty-four hours before being cooked and served and look absolutely incredible. If we were to go there again, I would probably order those, the specialty of the “The dirty Crow Inn.” When we finished the meal, I came to the conclusion that i would one hundred percent eat here again, to try something different than the fantastic burger that I’d already eaten. My wife and I left, discussing the fact that we would some day eat here again. In Memphis good food isn’t hard to find, but I think the “Dirty Crow Inn” is a lace that we will return to in the future, a place where each dish is as good as the next. I would highly recommend checking it out. IMG_3973

Leave a Reply

